My humble advice to @Microsoft

caveman_invent_nag_437175

 

 

Microsoft recently came out with a new OS and tablet (surface) and the world was like “Umm.. ok, thats cool.”  The problem is Microsoft has taken the brand equity in our minds as an old software company for enterprises to utilize.  The cool factor does not apply to Microsoft at all and in my humble opinion the only way to fix it:

INVENT SOMETHING!

You have to stop copying what Apple is doing and make your own devices/solutions that will revolutionize the way people live their lives.  Just like what Microsoft did with Windows 95 and bought the power of user friendly computing to every household. As a marketer when I see the surface tablet ads, it does not leave an impression with me.  I forget the whole ad in seconds and move on to look at my iphone.  When I played around with it I asked myself what does this do that I already do not do with my ipad?  Answer: Nothing.

I am not an expert on technology (at least not yet) but in marketing (also positioning) you have to build a product that no one else has done before (a revolutionizing product) and take the first position category in someones mind. We know Microsoft has money, now all they have to do is get trendspotters, futurists and top minded technologists in a room to give is the next best thing!

Manpreet Jassal

@mjassal

Leave a Reply

