1 Law and 2 Quotes I think about Every Single Day

I feel like I have been a marketer my whole life. Everything I do today doesn’t even feel like a job anymore because its part of who I am. That being said, there is 1 marketing law and 2 quotes that I think about every single day. I don’t try to think about them at all but they have become part of my DNA.

So Al Ries and Jack Trout wrote a book called “The 22 Immutable Laws of Marketing: Violate Them at Your Own Risk!” The law that hit me hard right away was:

The Law of PerceptionMarketing is not a battle of products, it’s a battle of perception.

The basic concept being all that exists in the world of marketing are perceptions in the minds of the customer or prospect. The perception is the reality. Everything else is an illusion. It doesn’t matter if product A is better than product B, if consumers think product B is better, facts don’t matter. This is why Apple has taken over in phone sales this year even though Andriod had more features and benefits years ago. Its very hard to change perceptions.

The 1st is from David Ogilvy who I (and most people) think is the Father of Marketing. He has written many books which are still a part of many marketers top ten lists. Ogilvy has so many quote attributed to him but my favorite is:

If it isn’t creative, it doesn’t sell.

Every time I look at a creative the first thing I think about is, “will this help me sell more of X, Y, Z?” Yes, the creative needs to look amazing but if it doesn’t get the message by engaging you in a further conversation, then it really doesn’t matter.

The 2nd quote is from Peter Drucker. What can I say about him, he is known as the “Founder of Modern Management.” When I first heard this in a keynote by Jack Trout several years ago, I went and read about Drucker. I love the way he said this, not even one word is out of place here:

“Because the purpose of business is to create a customer, the business enterprise has two–and only two–basic functions: marketing and innovation. Marketing and innovation produce results; all the rest are costs. Marketing is the distinguishing, unique function of the business.”

Trying to be unbiased here as a marketer but Drucker got it right. If you think about the biggest companies in the world right now they are doing these two things: Innovating and Marketing (i.e. Google, Amazon, Apple, etc) Even Professor Philip Kotler said that the basic function of marketing is to “create jobs.” I encourage you to read all of the books by these great men and hopefully it will shape your marketing DNA as well.

My conviction is that companies that really follow these things consistently year over year will have a bright future ahead of them.

Manpreet Jassal

@mjassal

Leave a Reply

