Why every #DigitalMarketer needs to be on #Twitter

“Advertising people who ignore research are as dangerous as generals who ignore decodes of enemy signals” – David Ogilvy

Now, I know what you’re thinking “Hey, I’m a great marketer because I increased sales last quarter and my engagement was up. Why do I need to care about Twitter?”

I get it and I totally understand where that question is coming from but that is not the reason you need to be on twitter. Most marketers who are on it just use it to push and distribute content. How many are engaging? Networking? And most importantly listening? This is basically a new way to do market research.

Twitter has become a distribution platform more than an engagement platform. Marketers need to start using it more to help build a relationship with their clients and prospects. Listen to any social media expert out there and they will tell you the same thing.

But let’s go back to that original person’s point saying “hey, I’m a marketer and I’m doing really well and I’m not even on Twitter.” My question to you would be then how are you listening to your clients or prospects? Researching on twitter is a great way to get real time information on your market. Now I am not saying start tweeting, retweeting and talking to every single person. I am asking you to start listening to the people that could be your clients and prospects and to see what they’re talking about and start engaging with them. If you are making 5x year over year in revenue right now, wouldn’t 7x be better? I think Twitter can help.

Did you know if you own a local coffee house or craft beer house you can actually see if people are talking about any of them in a 5 mile radius of your business? Using different hashtags you can listen to conversations about #Coffee or #CraftBeer in your local area. Maybe jump in the conversation just to help them or agree with that they are saying. Don’t sell your product right away, just talk to them to build a connection. Overall goal is to build a relationship with your community.

I use Twitter to listen to people all the time, engage with marketers to see what they’re thinking and learn from them. So the next time I push out content I can relate to the community even more. Twitter is just going to get bigger and bigger and especially with the new video platform that came out which is going to take eyeballs away from YouTube.

If you don’t have a Twitter account or if you do have one but are not active I encourage you to get active on it. Just start listening to your audience and see what they’re talking about it hopefully you can help build a connection and a relationship with them that overall would benefit you and even more benefit them. 

Manpreet Jassal

@mjassal

Leave a Reply

